Order Of The Black review by Black Label Society

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 10, 2010
  • Sound: 7
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 7
  • Reviewer's score: 7.3 Good
  • Users' score: 9 (85 votes)
Black Label Society: Order Of The Black

Sound — 7
Metal tunes washed down with a healthy dose of Rock n Roll sensibilities! What more could you ask for. Black Labels' new offering is a huge improvement on 2006s' Shot To Hell and a return to form for Zakk Wylde. Chunky guitar tone, frantic solo work, catchy sing along choruses coupled with driving bass work and heavy hitting drums. Its a sonic assault but with variety Zakk really knows when to slow it down and break out the piano. The whole album flows well and its kept my attention quite well. All in all its definitely Zakk Wylde but its a more convincing performance in song writing and its a cracking album.

Lyrics — 8
Zakk is always a point of contest whether its his vocal style or his blatant love of pentatonics which is in question. He tailored the band from the beginning to his specifications so he slots into into it as the lynchpin. He just is the music here, its a musical incarnation of a good damn time! He is sounding better than ever and the vocal harmony work is done tastefully and really shows just how well the songs are thought out.

Overall Impression — 7
This is a return to form for Zakk and the Boys and its a welcome addition to my collection especially after Shot To Hell was so disappointing. The riffing is great, the songs move well, its varied and you wont be looking at your watch! Its good time music and that one of the problems. I can't see this becoming a classic or anything.. Black Label just seems like that one great party. Try to replicate it and it's just not gonna be as good! Check this out definitely but really The Blessed Hellride is the seminal record.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date