Never Say Die [DVD] review by Black Sabbath

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 4, 2003
  • Sound: 10
  • Content: 9
  • Production Quality: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.2 (5 votes)
Black Sabbath: Never Say Die [DVD]

Sound — 10
'Never Say Die', recorded from one of the last shows with the original line up from 1978 shot at Hammersmith in London. This DVD shows Sabbath playing some of their best songs in a show about 60 minutes long.

Content — 9
The setlist of the show is not to bad although there is some songs that should of been played instead of others, but oh well. Setlist: 01. Symptom Of The Universe 02. War Pigs 03. Snowblind 04. Never Say Die 05. Black Sabbath 06. Dirty Women 07. Rock And Roll Doctor 08. Electric Funeral 09. Children Of The Grave 10. Paranoid Although between 'Dirty Women' and 'Rock And Roll Doctor' Bill does a quick drum solo (not as good as Rat Salad). And Tony does a guitar solo before 'Electric Funeral' which is pretty cool. Tony also does improvised extended solos on 'Black Sabbath', and 'Dirty Women'. There is no extra features included with the DVD, sadly.

Production Quality — 8
Well, this is where the DVD lacks a little. The image is not the best, but not too bad and the sound ain't that great too, but still not too bad.

Overall Impression — 9
This is not the best DVD (compared to 'The Last Supper' or 'The Story') but still a good DVD for any Black Sabbath fan to own. Especially this being shot in the last days with the original line up before Ozzy was fired. The best songs on here are 'Electric Funeral', 'Paranoid', 'Dirty Women', Children Of The Grave', and 'Black Sabbath'. If it were stolen I would go get a new copy. To sum it up, if your a big sabbath fan and don't have this go get it now!

2 comments sorted by best / new / date

    I spent my first paycheque buying this and AC/DCs Let There Be Rock on VHS. No remorse, no regrets!