Nico review by Blind Melon

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 1, 1996
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9 (23 votes)
Blind Melon: Nico

Sound — 10
The main reason for the release of Blind Melon's final album, Nico, was to give the late great Shannon Hoon one final bow and this album does it beautifully. The band does away with some of their busy, guitar heavy sound they had with "Blind Melon" and "Soup." In fact, many of the tracks are just Shannon on an acoustic guitar that was recorded in some hotel room. Along with these tracks, the CD includes a few covers (Steppenwolf's "The Pusher" and John Lennon's "John Sinclair"), some full band recordings from the sessions of "Soup" and even a song recorded by Shannon on a band member's answering machine. The CD (and the band) hits its peak with the song "Soup."

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics and singing on this album is damn near flawless. Shannon was always an amazing vocalist and on this album he pulls even more emotion out of his voice on his final record. All of the lyrics seem heartfelt and are nothing short of pure genious. Perhaps the greatest song released by Blind Melon is "Soup." The song is so emotional and powerful that by the time Shannon sings the line "I'll pull the trigger and make it all go away," the listener should be close to tears.

Overall Impression — 10
Soup is the perfect album. Excellent from start to finish, Soup is the perfect way to say goodbye to a fallen friend. (RIP Shannon Hoon).

0 comments sorted by best / new / date