Blink-182 review by Blink-182

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 18, 2003
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.2 (200 votes)
Blink-182: Blink-182

Sound — 10
A much different sound to their usual but still just as good. This album delivers a stunning mix of pop-punk, punk, alternative and post-grunge and is great for any one who likes good music. As with all albums there are bad points and there a couple of songs such as Obvious and Go that seem to lack in style and become quite repetitive, however this is made up for with greats like Down, Asthenia, Always and Stockholm Syndrome. They've even brought in the help of Robert Smith from The Cure to record a stunning "Cure-esque" song. And Travis is let loose to create some awesome drum-beats in songs such as The Fallen Interlude.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics are also a complete change to their usual and offer up a different side to Blink that hasn't been seen before. Tom DeLonge shows what a great lyricist he is with songs such as I'm Lost Without You and Always, and along with some great bass lines courtesy of Mark Hoppus they have conjured up something brilliant. Some songs lyrics do seem to lack substance, such as Go however the other songs make up for this and when sung by Tom DeLonge almost anything will sound good.

Overall Impression — 9
This album is great for non-Blink and Blink fans and will keep you listening for hours. The best songs on it are Down, Stockholm Syndrome, Not Now (only availible on the UK version), Always and Violence all of which offer up great riffs and fantastic melodies and lyrics to create a formidable mix. Granted not all the songs are as good as this and Obvious and Go both rather let themselves down however the rest of the album is so good you won't particularly notice these songs. This is certainly an album I would recommend to anyone and is destined to be remembered as a great one.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date