Blondie review by Blondie

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 1, 1976
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 8 (8 votes)
Blondie: Blondie

Sound — 9
Blondie's first self titled album I have to start off by saying that it is a good album, but not as great as their future albums would be. The sound of the music gives off the feeling of 50's 60's pop-rock with the blend of their own personal take on music as well as the inspiration from bands such as the Doors, Iggy Pop, and David Bowie. In many documentaries it is said that Blondie was a pioneer of the New York punk scene. The band took form in the early 70's when the guitarist and soon to be boyfriend, Chris Stein, met Debbie Harry in a New York music club. The band's original line-up was Debbie Harry on vocals, Chris Stein on guitar, Jimmy Destri on Keyboards, Clem Burke on Drums, and Gary Valentine on guitar; the bass would be traded between Chris and Gary. This album was recorded in August-September of 1976 and released in early 1977. Debbie's beauty, aside from the great music, would help elevate them to be one of the most popular bands the world had ever seen.

Lyrics — 9
The lyrics are well matched with what's going on musically and that comes off really well when listening to each individual song. For example in the song In the Flesh you get that sweet tender feeling from the lyrics while the music has this soft beat to it. In the Flesh would also be their first ever hit in Australia. Then you have In the Sun which is this happy 60's sounding surf song. There's also this great track called X-Offender that was originally called sex-offender but changed because radio wouldn't allow it. Deborah Harry in my opinion is the most gorgeous front woman ever; blessed with this beautiful unique voice that can make you fall easily in love with her.

Overall Impression — 9
Blondie is one and only it's other bands that are compared to them, especially if that other band has a woman singing for them. The standout tracks for this album are X-Offender, Little Girl Lies, Look Good in Blue, In the Sun, Kung-Fu Girls, and the funny sounding track The Attack of the Giant Ants. I don't hate anything on this album only that some songs tend to be a tad slow and that the lyrics aren't included on the booklet of the 2001 re-release of the album. Overall it's a must have for any Blondie fan and if you're skeptical about listening to band called Blondie just forget about the name and listen to them. Though if you've never bought one of their records before I recommend getting Parallel Lines or Eat to the Beat first. If it were stolen or lost what do you think I'd do? Buy it again of course!

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    Who are the jackasses that gave this album low ratings? People that have never heard it, obviously. And you're right, it does owe a lot to the 60s girl groups and 60s pop in general. And they WOULD get a lot better, especially on Parallel Lines, which is fantastic.