The Circle review by Bon Jovi

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 30, 2009
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8 (24 votes)
Bon Jovi: The Circle

Sound — 9
Bon Jovi makes a full comeback with the Circle. Becoming their first album in 2 years, they are bringing rock right back into the spotlight! The sound is a mix of the same old heavy metal of the 80s and the fresh, new sound teeneagers will like today. The first single "We Weren't Born To Follow" put them back in the spotlight with its American patriotic theme and more personal working class look on life. Follow-up singles "When We Were Beautiful" and "Superman Tonight" are scheduled to come out later. Other tracks combine the heavy metal sound of the 80s with more modern working class and love songs. ROCK ON!

Lyrics — 8
The songs are all well written. These guys are experienced writers, unlike most pop singers of today who lack the ability to do anything but sing. The Guitar rocks, same classic metal riffs that used to propel them into the spotlight. These guys are more than just 80s survivors, they are modern legends, still in the spotlight. Like others like U2, they have embraced pop, but kept rocking.

Overall Impression — 8
Bon Jovi has made their comeback. But did they ever really leave? THEY ROCK FOREVER! The album might not be as good as others they've done to me, but it really compares to their 80s albums. Rock On, Bon Jovi! This is a great album, really! Sincerely, Guitarslinger

0 comments sorted by best / new / date