This Left Feels Right review by Bon Jovi

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 4, 2003
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 7.6 (19 votes)
Bon Jovi: This Left Feels Right

Sound — 9
This album sounds very different from all the other Bon Jovi albums. The album contains their most popular songs, but all the songs are very different than the original versions. It's like, "The best of Bon Jovi with a twist". Most of the songs are acoustic versions of the original. But that's not the only difference. All the songs are "broken down" and some have been changed completely. There are plenty of changes in the melody as well. The songs have a touch blues and soul in them. Songs like "It's My Life" sounds sad where as the original was very up-beat. Jon pushes the minor notes of the chords with his voice at the end of each verse. It sounds great. "Livin' On A Prayer" is another Bon Jovi classic which is completely changed here. The acoustic sound of this song sounds very good indeed. The female vocalist wasn't the best, but still the song turns out great. The live version of the song sounds even better, where Richie plays the twelve-string guitar. "Wanted Dead Or Alive" has been dramtically changed as well. This doesn't sound as good as the others, but it doesn't sound bad either. Overall, the soulful blues version of the classic Bon Jovi songs sounds fantastic.

Lyrics — 9
The lyrics are mostly same as the originals. There are some slight changes in a few songs (like in "Wanted Dead Or Alive"). Bon Jovi's lyrics are always emotional and powerful. Jon's voice always connects with voice. You can almost picture "Tommy and Jina" when Jon sings "Livin' On A Prayer". And the lyrics hit a different emotion when accompanied with the new acoustic sounds of the album. For example, "It's My Life" seem speak at an encouraging tone to someone who is down on his luck in this album compared the original, where it sounded like the shouting of a rebel. Jon's voice was solid in most of the songs.

Overall Impression — 9
Overall the album is great. Very different from all the other Bon Jovi albums. Almost every Bon Jovi fan will love this album because of this difference. People who have not listened to previous Bon Jovi albums will not appreciate this album as much as, but I thinks they would still like it. I would definitely buy this album again if it got lost/stolen.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date