Stars And The Sea review by Boy Kill Boy

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 31, 2008
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.6 (5 votes)
Boy Kill Boy: Stars And The Sea

Sound — 10
From the moment Promises bursts to life as the opening track on their new album, you can tell Essex band Boy Kill Boy are back in business. Intense and meaningful, all 11 tracks on Stars And The Sea roll by with passion and feeling. A OK, Rosie's On Fire, Kidda Kidda and Pen And Ink are all triumphant songs that make this an attractive package. This high-achieving CD was produced by super-producer Dave Sardy who has worked with Oasis and Red Hot Chili Peppers and here adds professionalism and clarity.

Lyrics — 9
Opening track Promises starts of with two opening chords reminiscent of The Clash's London Calling, which leads you to a memorable chorus which hits you with the line "I'll find my way back from the stars and the sea". Track 2, No Conversation, is another class song although repetitive but worthy to be released as the first single from the album. The tracks Loud and Clear, Paris, A OK, Kidda Kidda, Pen & Ink should cement themselves as Boy Kill Boy classics in the future and finally Be Somebody, Ready To Go, Rosie's On Fire, Two Souls resemble much of the tracks from Civilian.

Overall Impression — 9
Building from the debut album Civilian they bring the same anthemic pop on Stars And The Sea but with more thoughtful & maningful lyrics. Boy Kill Boy are back with a vengeance. Stars And The Sea is a CD that will gain cult status and is certainly worth having your credit card swiped.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date