Trainwreck review by Boys Night Out

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 26, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.7 (33 votes)
Boys Night Out: Trainwreck

Sound — 10
Boys Night Out's musical creativity on this album has jumped up in a huge way. Going from an album that, while great, was limited on skill, and consisted of not much more than power chords, harmonics and hammer-ons, Trainwreck explores chords and scales that most records of their genre don't even come near.

Lyrics — 9
The lyrics on this album are great, when seperate and applied to things that they're not really about. While they can be taken other ways, the songs of Trainwreck are all connected as a concept album, which seems to be a growing fad lately (i.e. Armor For Sleep's "What To Do When You Are Dead", Coheed And Cambria, He Is Legend's "I Am Hollywood" etc). The story behind trainwreck is pretty cut and dry. A man has violent visions in his sleep, murders his wife during said visions, is institutionalized and slowly goes insane before taking his own life. What makes this album somewhat unique is the opening and closing tracks where you hear The Doctor's perspective on what's happening, and not just from the viewpoint of an insane man. As far as musical skills go, Conor Lovat-Fraiser has definately improved his vocal skills, and the loss of several members, including 1 vocalist, Fraiser and guitarist/singer Jeff Davis have no trouble holding their own weight.

Overall Impression — 10
Overall, Trainwreck is an extremely unique album for its time and genre, despite being lumped into both the emo/screamo catagory and the concept album catagory, not being like either of its kind. Overall it is a great album for any occasion, and is a huge step up for Boys Night Out.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date