Phobia review by Breaking Benjamin

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 8, 2006
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9 (306 votes)
Breaking Benjamin: Phobia

Sound — 9
There are a lot of ways to describe the sound of a band like Breaking Benjamin. They seem to wander through a range of genres, such as alternative metal, metal, alternative, modern rock and sometimes, they even have skip through the screamo genre. The release of Phobia, signifies the 2nd album created by the band, after their formation, back in 2000 and is the sequel to the highly acclaimed 'We Are Not Alone', made in 2004.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics from 'Phobia' usually give a generally vivid picture, and allow you to connect as a listener to the band and their message. The songs are excellently composed by the band, and go exceptionally well with the heavily toned guitars and power-ridden drum beats. Ben Burnley, Singer of Breaking Benjamin, is an extremely talented singer when he is not yelling instead of singing properly.

Overall Impression — 8
The best songs from 'Phobia' feature 'Until The End', 'Beath', 'Evil Angel' and 'Dance With The Devil'. The absolute worst parts of this album are when vocals turn into screeching instead of the talent voice that Ben Burnley has. If I deleted this album I would download it again.

5 comments sorted by best / new / date

    They are pretty good, but I wish he would write better riffs. Most of them sound only half done.
    mr staind
    many compare this band to 3 days grace hahaha.What to say .The follow-up to Phobia will be released in early 2009