Count Your Blessings review by Bring Me the Horizon

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 30, 2006
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 6
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 7.7 Good
  • Users' score: 7.8 (219 votes)
Bring Me the Horizon: Count Your Blessings

Sound — 9
As a fan of deathcore, "Count Your Blessings" (2006) was, and still is, the peak of Bring Me The Horizon's career. Sykes' deep, guttural vocals are practically unheard on any of their future releases (bar "Suicide Season" (2008)), and after the departure of guitarist Curtis Ward, a change in the band's instrumental sound is obvious. "Count Your Blessings," like many deathcore or melodic death metal albums before it, combines heavy breakdowns on guitar strings thicker than the most viscous oil with melodic riffs that match the primal screams near-perfectly. "CYB" is a spectacular display of Lee (Malia, guitarist)'s and Matt (Nicholls, drums)'s skills as musicians, and shows an improve in the quality of sound from their 2004 EP, "This Is What the Edge of Your Seat Was Made For." Overall, I think the sound of this album overshadows all of Bring Me The Horizon's other releases, an excellent collection of heavy but not deafening music.

Lyrics — 6
Most of the lyrics on this album are, well, inaudible. Only after a few listens can one start to understand what Sykes' screams mean. When that moment comes, it is a similar case to metalcore band Asking Alexandria, whose lyrics began as immature rhymes about women and sex. "Count Your Blessings" also contains a lot of themes of death and suicide, which could be considered amateur and "emo." Aside from the quality of the lyrics, they comply well with the music, and the vocal range of at-the-time-teenage Oli Sykes are exemplary of a deathcore vocalist.

Overall Impression — 8
"Count Your Blessing" was/is Bring Me The Horizon's best work. After "Suicide Season," which, in itself was what I consider as the peak of the band's career, BMTH began the downward slope to mediocrity that was ensured with their most recent release, "That's The Spirit" (2015). However, "Count Your Blessings" could not have been a better debut album for the Sheffield band, and it is a staple in any deathcore fan's music collection. I would recommend this album to any fans of Carnifex, The Color Morale or Born Of Osiris.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date