Sempiternal review by Bring Me the Horizon

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Apr 2, 2013
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 6
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 7.7 Good
  • Users' score: 8.1 (292 votes)
Bring Me the Horizon: Sempiternal

Sound — 9
As with their last album, "There Is A Hell, Believe Me I've Seen It. There Is A Heaven, Let's Keep It A Secret", Bring Me The Horizon change up their sound towards a more, for lack of a better term, "ambient metal" sound. Granted there are songs like "Anti-Vist" which keeps to their more metalcore roots but from the get go with "Can You Feel My Heart" it is obvious that electronics and the same sort of ambiance found in their previous album will be prevalent. Whether this or good or bad is up to interpretation. Many songs on the album have this ambient sound and it does get a bit overdone but each time it is slightly different and evokes a different feeling. Most times you feel alone with the music but other times the ambiance fills your body and your soul and in a way liberates you. Overall this is musically, the most revolutionary BMTH album and probably will set a new standard for metalcore from 2013 on.

Lyrics — 6
The lyrics and the singing do show Oliver Sykes in his best form but that is no accomplishment as he hasn't been the best at either lyrics or screaming. The themes are slightly more positive than the lyrics in "Sempiternal"'s predecessor, but only slightly as with the lyrics "When it cuts you up this deep/It's hard to find a way to breathe", from the song "Sleepwalking", there is not much positivity. Overall the lyrics are Bring Me The Horizon lyrics, nothing too new. They're deep and personal but nothing revolutionary as far as the band's writing is concerned. As far as lyrical delivery, Oli Sykes will probably loose his voice in the next decade. He's not one of the best screamers in the business and even this album is rather light on screaming when compared to BMTH's past catalog. This is fine though as Bring Me The Horizon employed the vocal talents of Immanu el, a Swedish band, to actually sing on the record. This sets "Sempiternal" apart from past Bring Me The Horizon because this is the first time we get constant clean vocals on a Bring Me The Horizon album. Granted, "There Is A Hell..." had clean vocals from Lights and Josh Franceschi but they weren't constant on every track, they were simply a bridge or a chorus. Immanu el provides constant clean and quality vocals that set the songs they are featured in apart from the more hardcore songs on the album with zero singing.

Overall Impression — 8
Bring Me The Horizon have been reinventing metalcore ever since they became the main band in the scene. "Count Your Blessings" is a standard metalcore album and even BMTH realized that keeping things the same would lead to them fading out of the scene in the years to come. To remedy this, they evolved their sound from each album to the next and "Sempiternal" has the definite sound of a metalcore band trying to be different and even though at times it does get rather formulaic, it still sounds like a better album than most other bands within the same genre would be able to pull off. This album is Bring Me The Horizon at their best, songs like "Can You Feel My Heart" and "Sleepwalking" show an obvious change for the band but it is a change that is successful and truly helps Bring Me The Horizon keep their rank as one of the best metalcore bands. Meanwhile in songs like "Anti-Vist" and "House Of Wolves" do keep to the more standard idea of a metalcore song. If most other bands tried to do what Bring Me The Horizon did with this album, it would sound like they were trying too hard. Granted, the idea of electronics in a metalcore song are nothing new, they've been done over and over again but Bring Me The Horizon reinvents this idea to enhance the experience "Sempiternal" gives you. This experience though is what leads to one of the albums's faults, this album is not one to just put on and forget about while you do other things, you need to sit down and listen to it to get the full effect, otherwise the album could be easily viewed as a standard BMTH album and kinda forgettable within their catalog.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date