Sempiternal review by Bring Me the Horizon

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Apr 2, 2013
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.2 (294 votes)
Bring Me the Horizon: Sempiternal

Sound — 8
Sheffield metalcore quintet Bring Me The Horizon are back and better than ever with their fourth studio album "Sempiternal". The new offering boasts 11 tracks, including the incredibly addictive singles "Shadow Moses" and "Sleepwalking". As someone who has never been keen of Bring Me The Horizon's previous records, "Sempiternal" has come as a very welcome and exciting surprise. It may have possibly even converted me into a fan. With fierce guitar riffs, intense breakdowns and thought-provoking lyrics which will be great to scream along to in a mosh pit - what more could any fan want from an album? The record instantly kicks off with a captivating synth melody and driving drumbeat, bound to get you hooked in the form of the track "Can You Feel My Heart", which eases you into the album. This is followed by an unexpected descent into chaos with an aggressive guitar riff, "The House Of Wolves" giving you a taste of what's to come.

Lyrics — 7
"Anti-Vist" may be the most hostile and controversial track on the album, launching a verbal onslaught seething with hatred towards modern society even using the infamous C word. The album's second single release "Sleepwalking" begins with an instantly memorable synth melody, which sounds slightly reminiscent of "Hybrid Theory"-era Linkin Park. This may lead you to expect the track to be calm and relaxed. That is, until the guitars and drums drop in. Before you know it, you'll find yourself head banging along to an energetic anthem full of bounce that will get crowds at intimate venues and open air festivals alike moving.

Overall Impression — 9
The first thing that anyone who's familiar with the band will realize is that they have matured and evolved as musicians. "Sempiternal" has taken a new, more experimental path with writing and recording for the follow-up to 2010's "There Is A Hell". The change in musical direction can be credited to some changes within the band's lineup, including the departure of guitarist Jona Weinhofen and introduction of Jordan Fish of Worship (keyboards, programming). With the addition of classical instruments such as violins and cello, as well as melodious and atmospheric synth tracks, the band has reinvented its sound. Sykes' vocals are raw and delicate, yet extremely powerful and full of passion. 2013 has already been a busy year so far for Bring Me The Horizon, with recording and releasing the album and signing to their new label RCA Records. But despite this, they show no signs of stopping. The band will begin touring Europe on April 28th through to the end of August, including a run of major festivals such as Sonisphere, Reading/Leeds, Rock Am Ring and Groezrock. They'll also be part of the line-up for the Vans Warped Tour in the US and Canada later this year. Many anticipate that "Sempiternal" will be one of the best albums of 2013. Bursting with anger, attitude and anthemic tracks that will be mind-blowing when performed live, I'm inclined to agree. "Sempiternal" will be one of the essential albums for metal fans everywhere in 2013. Grab yourself a copy, you won't regret it.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date