Suicide Season review by Bring Me the Horizon

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 29, 2008
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.2 (206 votes)
Bring Me the Horizon: Suicide Season

Sound — 9
This album was the first real time I listened to Bring Me The Horizon, and I was very pleasantly surprised. As the tracks vary quite a lot, I'll give an overall rundown of each track. 01.The Comedown: This is one of my favorite songs on the album, it has a brilliant beginning, and is, for want of a better word, fun to listen to. This song may also have one of my favorite breakdowns of any song ever. 9/10 02.Chelsea Smile: this is also a brilliant song, with lots of different sections, such as an unexpected trip hop style part, great song, but the singing does get a little boring. 8/10 03.It Was Written In Blood: a so-so song, I personally feel that it is a bit boring, and is slow to get into the main part of the song, this is usually one that I skip. 6.5/10 04.Death Breath: this is a fantastic song, its so heavy and cool. this is possibly my favorite song on the album, just becuase its so heavy and fast. 10/10 05.Football Season Is Over: another Ok song, not brilliant, it doesn't have any really interesting parts, and the singing gets on my nerves to be honest. Probably my least favorite song. 6/10 06.Sleep With One Eye Open: a pretty good song, not the best, but by no means the worst, I think I like this song mainly for the low growling vocals. 7/10 07.Diamonds Arent Forever: Really Good song, cool intro and great chugging guitar part, one of the best songs. 8.5/10 08.The Sadness Will Never End: This song is brilliant, the Guitar is great, and Sam Carter's vocals really make this song brilliant, and really works well. 10/10 09.No Need For Introductions, I've Read About Girls Like You On The Backs Of Toilet Doors: this song is actually pretty decent, despite the stupid title, the jazz style into is always funny to listen to and when the guitars start it always makes me laugh, pretty brilliant song, purely for the oddness of it. 10.Suicide Season: this is another great song, the intro is cool, and it has an overall great sound to it, this song is great, and I think that it is probably the most meaningful track on the album, which makes it a great closer for the album. 9/10 The overall sound of the album is great, and despite a few boring songs, it is mainly a great album, with some brilliant songs. I think that the album is also quite unique, as I have never really heard songs like this from any other bands, that is, unless I'm just completely blind to a load of similar bands, I don't think I can't really compare this album to any other bands.

Lyrics — 7
This subject is a seemingly very touchy area, I often see very varied opinions of Oli sykes' Writing and singing skills, and I personally like his vocals, and most of the lyrics that he writes, but sometimes his screaming can get very tiresome, but I do really love his lower growls, and it seems that I prefer songs with the low growls to songs that are just screaming. However, easily my favorite Vocal performance on the album is Sam Carter's on the Sadness will never end, and its surprising how well the clean vocals go with the heavy guitar. Overall, Oli Sykes' has some great moments on this album, but I wouldn't say it was a fantastic vocal performance, purely because he seems to rely on screaming far too much.

Overall Impression — 9
Overall, this album is great to listen to, its one of my favorite newer albums, and although I don't really like to all of the tracks, I think that the songs I really listen to are fantastic. I really love the heavyness of this album, and it's nice to see a heavy british band again. There aren't really any problems with the album, but there are a few annoying bits, certain parts of songs, and so on. Overall, a great album.

9 comments sorted by best / new / date

    thses guys are so bad. I absolutely hate this album and anything they write. plus they are doing absolutely nothing to advance the genre and makes it all sound exactly the same
    Ben Edelstein
    I liked Count Your Blessings kind of but this one sucks. Oli's vocals have really gone down hill but at least its not as monotonous as Count Your Blessings
    i think this album was good it wasnt count your blessings but it was solid i did like the diffrence i think its cool becouse depending on my mode ill play one cd over the other so in retrospect its good if your not a deathcore/grindcore elitest amd thats my fav genre so im not bashing it
    There is nothing special about this album. its another bury your dead rip off. The only thing keeping these guys alive is the vocals. They should be ashamed for comforming to what the popular sound is. Im a fan of BMTH only for the last two albums, this one is a trasher in my opinon.
    hm i like this album very much the sadness will never ends + chealsea smile are two brilliant songs but i also think that olis vocals are kind of annoying in the beginning but they get more and more interesting
    Stop picking at his vocals. They're fantastic. Especially in the song Suicide Season.