Born In The USA review by Bruce Springsteen

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 4, 1984
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 7.8 (9 votes)
Bruce Springsteen: Born In The USA

Sound — 10
Most people would argue that Bruce Springsteen's seventh studio album is his ultimate best. They are affirmative! It was also his best selling album. Rightly so! "Born In The USA" explores Bruce's feelings about the recession America had to put up with at the time Ronald Reagan was titled President and his fights for their civil rights. Personally as a socialist, I support him, but amazingly, he is not entirely negative. He contrasts the themes with upbeat rock and roll, making rock/rock and roll music more fun again and proving that rock and roll is not dead. Using a cool set of synthesizers and a pop-flavored radio oriented sound, this album could easily be used to allow audiences to protest against the recession and enjoy themselves simultaneously, which is something Radiohead easily fail to do.

Lyrics — 9
If the Sex Pistols were to produce a new album, they should take a hint from Bruce's lyrics; a good sense of anarchy, proving a distinctive point about society, with No Swearing whatsoever! "Born In The USA" - perfect choice to open the album. A brief introduction based on Mr. Springsteen's opinions on American society and hopes for the American Dream. Cool poetry contrasting with what he depicts as phony wars including the one in Vietnam. "No Surrender" - depicts how angry Bruce is about the then current events and that he is strong and will not give up fighting for his rights. Robin Hood would have been proud! "Glory Days" - the days may not have been glorious back then, but it goes to show what Bruce hoped for.

Overall Impression — 9
Compared with any Sex Pistols album, "Born In The USA" uses stronger singing voices from Bruce Springsteen, much less whining and very-well written melodies. Between Johnny Rotten and Bruce Springsteen, the expert of rock and roll is Bruce! He makes less mockery of it and makes protesting more fun. The music is much easier to dance to. The most recommended songs from this album are "Born In The USA", "Darlington Country", "Working On The Highway", "No Surrender" and "Glory Days". These songs need to be played more often at clubs i.e. Propaganda, because that is what "Born In The USA" is all about!

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    Uh... I don't really know what you're getting at with the Sex Pistols comparisons.