Bucketheadland 2 review by Buckethead

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 13, 2003
  • Sound: 6
  • Lyrics: 4
  • Overall Impression: 6
  • Reviewer's score: 5.3 Decent
  • Users' score: 9.6 (14 votes)
Buckethead: Bucketheadland 2

Sound — 6
Buckethead is definitely one of the most experimental guitarists I have ever heard of. Bucketheadland 2 is a sequel to the other Bucketheadland album. It is the tenth studio album by Buckethead. It is based around the concept of an "abusement park" called Bucketheadland. There are 30 tracks on the cd. While there are many tracks of Buckethead himself just talking about headcheese, beheading, or the slaughter house, there are also many that follow the usual Buckethead style. Tracks such as "Two Pints" is Buckethead taking the roll of a little boy who wants his parents to buy him "head cheese." Like I said, Buckethead is experimental with this album. One minute you could be listening to an insane guitar solo then the next you could hear him ranting on about beheading people all in the same song. So overall, I wouldn't recommend it just for listening, but if your looking for some good solos to try to play you'll have to dig to find them.

Lyrics — 4
As everyone knows Buckethead does not do much singing. He did not sing on this album, but he does talk very much. I would say most of the 30 second clips of him ranting just contributes to the concept of the album. So, there is no real "lyrics" I guess.

Overall Impression — 6
Overall, the album is ok when it comes to your regular instrumental guitar songs. There is just so much other tracks that just weight down what is actually good on the album. If your looking at the concept point of view, I guess it would be a very good album. The clips of him talking are very boring and just do not attract much attention. As far as guitar solos go, the best song on Bucketheadland 2 would probably be "Carpal Tunnel Tomb Torker." I really enjoyed all of the guitar solos because Buckethead is a very good technical guitarist plus he can shred at hyper speed. I didn't like all of the voice tracks that are like 30 seconds to a minute long because it just weighted down the rest of the cd. If I lost it, I probably would not put up the $10.00(US) dollars I put up for it. So, overall it is not a bad cd, but it is not that great either.

7 comments sorted by best / new / date

    i bought this album on itunes, seeing that it was 30 songs for 10 bucks. its really wierd, makes you laugh at times, a few tracks of his relentless shred, and a whole lot of gore.... especially in the last track
    i heard the album and it wasnt what i expected but i still enjoyed it a lot, i think its for fans or people who are very into avant-garde
    I'm a pretty big buckethead fan. I have a bunch of his albums and I'm going to see him (yay!) and this album is just very him in a nutshell. Everyone knows that he is an insane guitarist, but not that much of a lyricist. Therefore, you can't get the complete impression of the album's meaning without these little random tracks. I'm not saying some aren't boring and it's all love and happiness, just that it's him. His guitar playing alone is worth the $10 for the instrumental parts of tracks. Also, you can always just skip them :p
    I thought the little skits were wierd... and I like Buckethead's Colma/Electric Tears/Population Override sound better than this heavily distorted, thrashing
    FinderofNemo wrote: I love Frozen Brains Tell no Tales, awesome song.
    Yes seriously that song is beast!! I love playing that song, probubly like the 3rd song i learned on guitar lol
    Bloody Rainbow Spiraling Sherbert Scoop is brilliant. Terrific album, I love it. The whole concept.