Electric Sea review by Buckethead

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 21, 2012
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9 (26 votes)
Buckethead: Electric Sea

Sound — 10
Waited for 10 long years for it and by god it was worth every moment. "Electric Sea" is the 35th studio album by Buckethead and is the sequel of "Electric Tears", which was released in 2002. Now before going into the details of the sound I should say that Buckethead, who sports a mysterious appearance, produced some of the greatest melodies only with electric and acoustic guitar that it will take you far away from your surroundings to the world of happiness even when everything is sad. Now lets discuss about the sound in details. One can really call this a guitar masterpiece because you'll only find the melodies of electric and acoustic guitar. No other instruments has been used in this album. In the album we get Classical solos, western rhythm, powerful riffs, arpeggios, flamencos etc etc in a perfectly composed package. For its awesome sound and composition a perfect 10 for "Electric Sea".

Lyrics — 10
When referring to power they say "Pen is mightier than sword". Now after hearing this album you will surely say that when Emotion and soulfulness is concerned "Music is mightier than Lyrics". In one word to describe this album the word should be "heart-touching". Moreover the skill of playing and the composition is superb. So once again a perfect 10 for this masterpiece.

Overall Impression — 10
Now the album has 11 tracks as follows: 01. Electric Sea 02. Beyond The Knowing 03. Swomee Swan 04. Point Doom 05. El Indio 06. La Wally 07. La Gavotte 08. Bachethead 09. Yokohama 10. Gateless Gate 11. The Homing Beacon A total of 48:05 minutes of total pleasure. Out of this: * Track 6, "La Wally", is a composition by Alfredo Catalani. * Tracks 7 and 8, "La Gavotte" and "Bachethead" respectively, are original compositions by Johann Sebastian Bach. and * Track 11, "The Homing Beacon", was originally released exclusively on Buckethead's official website in 2009 without an album. It is a tribute to Michael Jackson by Buckethead after he heard the news of his death. Particularly the songs "Beyond The Knowing", "Point Doom", and "La Gavotte" are my personal favorite. The 2 things I love about this album is: 1) Heart touching compositions 2) Blending different music genres (flamenco, classical, rock etc) into a classic album. If it were lost or stolen I'd surely buy a new copy because this is a heart touching magical masterpiece and you'll surely fall in love with it after you hear it. So overall for the magical music created by Buckethead a perfect 10 for it.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date