Three Easy Pieces review by Buffalo Tom

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 7 (3 votes)
Buffalo Tom: Three Easy Pieces

Sound — 8
Buffalo Tom are forever the music world's sole band to empathise - cruelly cast aside as grunge lite, forgotten underdogs who only ever hovered on the mainstream. With 'Three Easy Pieces', the band have returned with a classic combination of the fiery grunge rock of their early period with a more modern mix. The guitars still roar and fizz, particularly on the stomping "Renovating", but they also display a Teenage Fanclub-sytle maturity on the mellow, bittersweet "You'll Never Catch Him".

Lyrics — 8
Lyrically, the Bostonians have always had a way with yearning, anxious emotions, and on 'Three Easy Pieces' they have it in spades, particularly on "You'll Never Catch Him"'s beautiful chorus, "diamonds everywhere, cross your heart and swear." Performed by both the vocalists, it's a spine-tingling moment. The album's stand out, 'Bottom of the Rain', sees Bill Janovitz look back in time with the lines 'where'd they go? Where all all those golden years?". The lyrics are full of sad emotion but their maturity shines through.

Overall Impression — 8
"Three Easy Pieces" is easily one of the best albums Buffalo Tom have created, containing the bravado and energy that they had when they released 1992's career high-point "Let Me Come Over". The harmonies shine through, particularly on the rollicking "September Shirt" and the anthemic "Girl". This comeback - being their first since 1998's cruelly overlooked "Smitten" - was not only for the right reasons but also hits all the right notes.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date