Cage The Elephant review by Cage the Elephant

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 23, 2008
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.6 (50 votes)
Cage the Elephant: Cage The Elephant

Sound — 9
Cage the Elephant is a band from Bowling Green Kentucky who have released their album Cage the Elephant back in 2008. Cage the Elephants music is what I would describe a mix between blues/garage rock with hints of alternative/punk. The band incorporates guitar, bass, drums and carefully crafted lyrics into ten well made songs. The album is a personal favorite from 2009 well into this year.

Lyrics — 9
The lyrics written by Cage the Elephant are very flowing and full or energy. They tell a story so to speak with a beginning middle and end. Both the type of music and lyrics fit very well with each other. Lead singer Matt Shultz has a voice very much like such notable singers such as Tom Petty of The Heartbreakers and Glenn Frey of The Eagles

Overall Impression — 10
The album unique music doesn't compare much to any other artists out there with the same sound. A couple of songs that caught my attention were, "Ain't no Rest For The Wicked," and "Back Against the Wall," both mainly for their slide guitar and catchy chorus. I absolutely love the lyrics of the album and definitely the guitar and personally as soon as I heard "Ain't no Rest For the Wicked," I bought the album. And if this album was ever lost or stolen from me I would without question buy it again.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date

    i loved this album!!! im so sick of all this emo, whiny, teenage bs music that all my friends listen to, its good to hear something different. matt shultz makes me happy too