Lucifer Rising review by Candlemass

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 6, 2008
  • Sound: 7
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 7
  • Reviewer's score: 7 Good
  • Users' score: 9 (2 votes)
Candlemass: Lucifer Rising

Sound — 7
Ultimately oriented more towards fans than casual listeners Lucifer Rising brings us in total 9 minutes of new material, a re-record of a band classic and a mini live album all in one. The new songs may not be that great but since the real focus are the live songs Lucifer Rising is a solid EP and a nice addition to your Candlemass collection. The New songs are: 01.Lucifer Rising out of an increasing number of mid tempo songs in the Candlemass catalog Lucifer Rising is one of the better ones, the song is redeemed mostly by the sweeping vocals, a courtesy of Mr.Lowe. 02. White God is a much better song, slower, more tense, a classic doom metal song which deals with the arrival of white explorers and their misdeeds. White God is driven more by the atmosphere than the riffs but it's still a trip down the Congo worth taking. 03. Demon's Gate is a re-record of the classic Candlemass song from their first album Epicus Doomus Metallus. It differs little form the original track, since Lowe is singing it this time, the vocals come off much better than the original. The live segment was recorded in Athens in 2007 and it contains an hour of live material, mostly comprising out of fan favorites and the songs from King of The Grey Islands. 04. At The Gallows End 05. Solitude 06. Emperor Of The Void 07. Devil Seed 08. Mirror Mirror 09. Under The Oak 10. Of Stars And Smoke 11. Black Dwarf 12. Samarithan The crowd goes wild before and after every track, not surprising as every song is audio gold wrapped in silver cloth and delivered to you in the shape of a great performance. The live songs are mixed well and indeed the live part sounds better than the studio recordings but that should not be a surprise when Candlemass is concerned.

Lyrics — 7
This is the band's second release with Robert Lowe, more familiar to us form the Texas doom band Solitude Aeturnus and of course he does his job both in the studio and on the stage very well. His best performance is on Demon's Gate where he out sings Candlemass' first singer by miles. He does not quite have the range of Messiah Marcolin, namely his immense low octave vibrato so Lowe sings Marcolin's melodies an octave higher that Marcolin.

Overall Impression — 7
Overall the EP is a neat little package which will entertain you for the 71 minutes of its length, don't worry if you don't like the first couple of minutes, from White God to the live segment it just gets better and better. As I said above this is mostly intended for fans so a causal listener can skip this and go for the full length Death Magic Doom, Lucifer Rising is a good buy if you like Candlemass.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date