Until Your Heart Stops review by Cave In

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.4 (5 votes)
Cave In: Until Your Heart Stops

Sound — 10
This is the most sickest, brutal and creative album than I've ever heard in hardcore music. With this, Cave In show that is the most creative hardcore band to the date. Only 5 albums show the proof that their music is the most variating of hardcore, alt. rock, space and indie, but "Until Your Heart Stops," their debut, is full of metalcore, but this is not one of the shittiest metalcore like the bands of now, this is one of the best creations of the genre ever, not only aggressive and brutal music, also much experimentation as shit with guitars, battery and voices, and also a sickest production that makes creative and original, specially that final noise on the track "Until Your Heart Stops" and the 8 minutes of experimentation of "Controlled Mayhem and Them Erupts." The calm landscapes of music are present so, like the calm riffs of "Halo of Flies," the calm chorus of "Until Your Heart Stops," etc.

"Until Your Heart Stops" had this and much more, if you wanna know, listen to this, for me, one of the best metalcore albums ever.

Lyrics — 10
Had some of the most turbiest, darkest and terrifying lyrics in co-star the brutal and aggressive voices of Steve Brodsky (here not sing in calm voices like the next albums, the voice of him is full of screaming in this), Adam McGrath, and, the surprise of the review, Jacob Bannon, the singer of Converge. You wanna be scared after listening the screamings and whispers of Brodsky and Bannon on the tracks "Moral Eclipse" and "Until Your Heart Stops," but I don't wanna ruin your experience, so listen, again, I say it again, LISTEN, fuck.

Overall Impression — 10
"Until Your Heart Stops" sound much different than the metalcore bands of today, had a doses of space rock and experimental music, that makes different, and a doses of Cave In, the best of the album, and the reason that makes a 10, is the collaboration of Converge in the album, Jacob Bannon and Kurt Ballou have make a great job, in so, Cave In + Converge = Apocalipsis, sh-t, you make a idea of in this album you gonna find things that you never gonna listened, two brutal bands, a destroying album. Maybe after the 1st listen you don't wanna like it, but after many listens, the album makes more great, also this is the most accesible album to the date of Cave In, and a introduce of listen to music of them. The best tracks are "Juggernaut," "Until Your Heart Stops" and "Halo of Flies." No more words, and sickest album for the year of release.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date