Enter Deception review by Cellador

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 27, 2006
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 7
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.6 (16 votes)
Cellador: Enter Deception

Sound — 8
Well some aspects of the band are amazing, others, well you can tell it's metal. The drumming is the only lackluster thing musically here. Granted he's good and all, but seriously double bass drums with the quarter note snare, and the hi-hat in between each snare hit, yea it's been done by everyone else who plays drums in a metal band. Other than that, great riffs, guitar leads/ harmonies and the best vocalist in years help make up for that. The songs sound like you've heard them before, but in a good way, like they sound familiar, but in the way like you haven't heard the song in awhile, and by god it's catchy as hell, which is a bonus. I personally give props to American Power Metal now, we've got the upper hand on Europe now. Yea so they sound like European Power Metal, and have a death metal twist, but not a scream can be found coming from this kid who honestly resembles more of a Matt Shadows (Avenged Sevenfold) character. Musically, there's nothing here that hasn't been done, but that doesn't mean they don't sound awesome. They are definitly worth atleast one download of a song, for what 99 cents. I recommend Leaving All Behind. But to be honest after that song, the riffs/ leads that start the songs start to blur and seem like the same song. And the drums, they never change, and that doesn't help the songs sound different either. Basically, the vocals make this band.

Lyrics — 10
Not much to say here, but for a power metal band. The time for video game- esque lyrics, dragon slaying and battles of long ago: well it's over. The lyrics, "reflect on personal issues and effects of current world events on our daily lives" (their myspace profile). The lyrics fit in well with the music, and the choruses are absolutly amazing. Not one song you can't love the vocals in. It's a new twist to Power Metal, but it works well for them, really well. And the singer well, one word and you're hooked on this guy's voice.

Overall Impression — 7
This is pretty much the new Maiden, and they are an American band, so it's not like it'll be too hard to catch them live as soon as they kick off. This is a band I could totally see on Sounds of The Underground, or Ozzfest within the next year or two. The disc has only been out since June 27, of '06, so it's not likely they'll hit any big upcoming tours before the 'next season' of touring in the spring. Leaving All Behind- 10/10- riff is bad ass and makes you just wanna move around. Then when the lyrics come in, you are instantly overwhelmed by this kids insanely amazing voice, resembling largely Bruce Dickinson of Maiden. Now the thing I most love about this song is the lyrics. They aren't like amazing, over the top ones, but they are new in power metal. They are relevant to today's times and have nothing to do with slaying dragons, or wizards. Drums, well it seems drums in all metal are the same, expect a ton of double bass, over and over again. The guitars stand out in this song as well, there are two solos, and a harmony piece separating the two. Sweep picking, shredding, and trem bar dives are present here, but they do it in a way that coordinates well with the song. Sorry but as for the rest of the songs, they all pretty much sound the same, but they are pretty good, it's definitly the vocals that drive them anywhere.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date