Are You Dead Yet? review by Children of Bodom

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 19, 2005
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 6
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.5 (440 votes)
Children of Bodom: Are You Dead Yet?

Sound — 8
Children of Bodom is in no way new to the heavy metal scene. With their first label release "Something Wild" in 1997, these guys have been around for a pretty long time. As the official COB website writes; "Children Of Bodom that darted to international fame with their debut, 1997's "Something Wild", has gone from being "this amazing band from Finland" to a household name in the metalscene. And that, of course, is obvious given the intensity, sheer quality of their material and the flawless execution." Alexi Laiho (guitars and vocals), Jaska Raatikainen (drums), Henkka Seppl (bass), Roope Latvala (guitars) and Janne Wirman (keyboards) form this metal/thrash/black/grind/synth band and whatever else you can call it. In the new album, Are You Dead Yeat? there is much more of a trash approach as apposed to the keyboard/guitar synchronized melodies played by Janne and Alexi in all previous albums. Rumour has is Alexi was drunk and dancing on a frozen car in Finland and fell and broke his wrist. Deciding to take it easy, the rythm behind each song has doubled. Although in previous albums such as Hate Crew Deathroll and Hatebreeder the guitars are a lot more melodic and has a bit more edge to it, the new album has that heavier sound that most metalheads will love.

Lyrics — 6
The lyrics of the album are barely understandable. There are no lyrics printed with the booklett so they are up to interpritation of the listener. Although some hooks and choruses are clear and send a clear message, the rest is uncomprehendable. The voice of lead guitarist Alexi Laiho has improved tenfold. When starting his voice was raspy and had almost forced growls, but are now a lot clearer. The song "Bastards of Bodom" was written by Alexi's side-project band Sinergy and has the edge of all former albums with lyrics such as "I was born to end life, I can take any form A shapeshifting demon, killing for sport"

Overall Impression — 10
Comparing this album to previous albums, there is no comparison that this is the heaviest yet. Although the guitars are lost, the vocals have improved tenfold. New song styles show through in songs such as "In Your Face" and "Bastards of Bodom" but the older sound is also heard in opening song "Living Dead Beat" and shred masterpiece "If You Want Peace... Prepare For War!".

4 comments sorted by best / new / date

    are you dead is something new. thats all it is. a new style for the bodom boys. congratulations Now lets go back to the stylings of the first three albums shall we...
    every album gets better and better and anyone who rags on bodom doesnt know real music!!! COBHC forever