Blooddrunk review by Children of Bodom

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Apr 15, 2008
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.5 (297 votes)
Children of Bodom: Blooddrunk

Sound — 9
Children Of Bodom are back at doing what they love, and their arsenal of volcanic axe riffs, explosive bass grooves and sonic-boom-like drum beats has never been greater. Some Bodom faithfuls have considered "Are You Dead Yet?" To be Children Of Bodom's "sellout" album. However, after listening to Blooddrunk, there will be no doubt in any Bodom fan's right mind that this is one of their best records, and they have not "sold out", but rather, continued taking a slightly different (yet still heavy and technically beautiful) direction that started with "Hate Crew Deathroll," the album is a beautiful mix of modern metal riffs, melodeath, and some old-school thrash influences. Not only does Alexi provide the shreddage that fans of Bodom have come to know and love on this album, but one interesting fact is that Roope does two solos on this album, the solos on Done With Everything, Die For Nothing and Banned From Heaven. All of the solos, whether it be keyboard or guitar, are extremely clever and well-crafted, whether it be whammy-bar-harmonic (almost Dimebag-esque) licks, scale improvisations, or just all-out speed shredding, both Alexi and Roope's performances on the album are unique, top-notch, and, for lack of a better word, amazing.

Lyrics — 7
There is a good reason Alexi Laiho is widely known for their guitar virtuosity. He is fairly original, and his song-crafting is unlike any other. This being said, his lyrics never quite live up to the epicness of the guitar riffs as much as they should. It gets close, but stops short. The lyrics definitely help the overall aggressive kick in the, well, you know, of the album's music, but as far as intelligent lyrics with deep meanings go, you will find none here. Alexi Laiho's vocal skills seem to stay the same in this album as other albums. His screaming isn't the best, nor is it the worst, but, as stated earlier, the vocals and lyrics aren't the highlight of the album, the music itself is.

Overall Impression — 9
I would say that this album is on par with most of Bodom's other releases. It isn't as neoclassical as "Something Wild", and isn't as thrashy as "Are You Dead Yet?", but it finds a happy medium in between the two. If you're a fan of metal, in general, this album will be a worthy addition to your collection. Children of Bodom are truly one of the most talentedmetal acts around today. Some of the highlights of the album are "Hellhounds On My Trail", "Blooddrunk", "Tie My Rope", "Done With Everything, Die For Nothing", and "Banned From Heaven". If you're a guitarist, which most people registered on this site are, then you will love these tracks. If this album were stolen or lost, I would definitely purchase it again but it won't be lost, technically, because I bought the album in MP3 format for my Zune.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date