Follow The Reaper review by Children of Bodom

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 20, 2001
  • Sound: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.1 (146 votes)
Children of Bodom: Follow The Reaper

Sound — 10
I have to mention the great sound of this album. You can hear every single instrument on here perfectly, musicians of Children of Bodom and Peter Tagtgrenan must of worked up a sweat.

Overall Impression — 10
Children of Bodom have recorded their best ablum in their career. The 10 tracks found on "Follow the Reaper" are an explosive mix of death & heavy metal. The solos on this album are killer (played by Alexi Laiho) and the vocals aren't an obstacle in the music either. The album has such killer tracks as "Children of Decadance", "Mask of Sanity" and "Hate Me!". The single (Hate Me!) went platinum in Finland (they have it good over there). "Follow the Reaper" is one of my candidates for album of the year (2001). Alexi Laiho says this about the new COB baby, "I think everybody will be surprised with the new material, it's like an atom bomb, each song is an explosion, and a great load of energy". I think that's enough said to spend a few bucks on the album.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date