Trashed, Lost And Strungout [DVD] review by Children of Bodom

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 25, 2004
  • Sound: 10
  • Content: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.5 (15 votes)
Children of Bodom: Trashed, Lost And Strungout [DVD]

Sound — 10
Finally! Something new from Children of Bodom! Though there are only 2 new songs on the Ep (+ 2 covers) you can still tell that the new Bodom album that is to be out 2005 will be something evolved. The band, as always, sounds veeery good. Since Alexander left the band, Roope Latvala (Stone, Sinergy) has been playing additional guitars on the Ep. Could this be the reason for the band's new, Trashier kind of approach to their Extreme Death Metal sounds? The band also sounds angrier on the Ep.

Content — 8
The CD version of the EP only has 4 tracks, which sucks. They could have done one more song. The DVD version has 2 live videos, video of the title track, video of a song from HCDR, 5.1 mixes of the 2 new songs, Video clp of Andrew W.K. greeting the band, And video footage of CoB's night out in Helsinki (Drunken Finns). And of course the 2 Covers: Andrew W.K's "She Is Beautiful" and Alice Cooper's "Bed Of Nails", wich is the best cover that the band has recorded so far. Lyrics, as always on CoB, they are hard to listen to if you don't have the lyrics, and they were not in the booklet. But I've never thought lyrics to be that important, unless the band really has something to say. Alexis voice hasn't really changed since Hatecrew Deathroll, but his guitar sound has But, he really sounds good with the trashness of the EP! CD-EP: 01. Trashed, Lost & Strungout 02. Knuckleduster 03. Bed Of Nails (Alice Cooper cover) 04. She Is Beautiful (Andrew W.K. cover) Enhanced Portion: "Trashed, Lost & Strungout" video "Trashed, Lost & Strungout" live in Helsinki Video footage of Children Of Bodom's night out. DVD-EP: 01. Trashed, Lost & Strungout 02. Knuckleduster 03. Bed Of Nails 04. She Is Beautiful 05. Andrew W.k. Greets Children Of Bodom 06. Angels Don't Kill 07. "Trashed, Lost & Strungout" live in Helsinki + video footage of COB's night out 08. Sixpounder 09. Downfall 10. Everytime I Die

Overall Impression — 8
Now I'm not gonna rate the overall to be 5, because the EP is too short. In fact, I think it's the highlight of the EP besides the title track. Trached, Lost & Strungout is a fast and heavy, trashy song with a catchy melody, and Knuckleduster is a medi-tempo hard hittin' heavy metal song right into your face, but it's not like the old Bodom, but sounds really american. If it were lost or broken or something, I'd have to get a new one for the Bodom collection, but unless you're a real Bodom fan, I don't think that you'd buy such a short EP twice.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date