Carver City review by CKY

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 19, 2009
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.1 (85 votes)
CKY: Carver City

Sound — 10
Obviously the album has that classic and unmistakable CKY sound. Crunchy guitars, synths, driving drums. The choruses really stood out on Carver City compared to their other albums. They just flow perfectly and will have you singing along to "Hellions on Parade" or "Rats in The Infirmary" The album sounds like it has a very studio sound to it with lots of overdubbing and effects added in production. However this has always been part of the CKY sound and adds to the eerie vibe of the album. You can really hear a growth in the band from AACBF, better guitars, vocals, drums, and just overall production.

Lyrics — 9
The album tells the story of a summer day in Carver City a city of bad luck and misfortune. The lyrics help to portray this eerie vibe, and tell the stories of the horrific events that took place. This album is the catchiest CKY album, with perfect choruses that keep you humming. Deron's vocals fit with the theme perfectly with his growls, screams. His style of singing helps to set the mood of the song giving "Woe is Me" and wailing sort of deathly tone, then switching to an upbeat and dance singing style on "A#1 Roller Rager"

Overall Impression — 10
CKY continue to outdo themselves and continually create near perfect albums that never lull at any point. CKY has almost been reborn after a near break-up and signing to Roadrunner Records where their album will finally get the support it deserves. CKY is like no other band both musically and in how they interact with their fans. I bought the regular album today, but will probably be ordering a signed special edition one as well.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date