Giving The Devil His Due review by Coal Chamber

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 19, 2003
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 6
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 7.3 Good
  • Users' score: 8.8 (4 votes)
Coal Chamber: Giving The Devil His Due

Sound — 8
This is actually a b-sides. Starting with one new song, "Headstones and the walking dead". Only the vocals are new tho, the rest was recorded a few years ago, but for some reason they never recorded vocals.Good old Coal Chamber sound,from their self-titled album to the agressive sound in Dark Days. There are a couple of demos and the sound is a little crappy on them but it's still good to listen to.

Lyrics — 6
Lyrics have never been their strong point. The singer, Dez, has an agressive voice and it fits well with the lyrics and music.

Overall Impression — 8
This is a b-sides, so I can't really compare it with the other albums. My favorite songs on this album are "Anxiety", "Apparition" and "Save yourself". If I lost it I probably wouldn't buy it again. This CD contains mixes of old songs, demos, 2 songs from soundtracks and 3 outtakes. Mixes aren't really different then the original ones so it's not really worth it, and the outtakes can be found on internet. If you are a real Coal Chamber fan, buy it, otherwise I wouldn't buy it.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date