Good Apollo, I'm Burning Star IV, Vol. 1: From Fear Through The Eyes Of Madness review by Coheed and Cambria

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 20, 2005
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.1 (257 votes)
Coheed and Cambria: Good Apollo, I'm Burning Star IV, Vol. 1: From Fear Through The Eyes Of Madness

Sound — 8
This is the third album and the fourht part of the bag online adventures of coheed and cambria in which Claudio tells of the story of young claudio kilganon and his adventures in a time that is superior to our own. They manage to combine smooth melodic guitar riffs with hard hitting, head banging electric fusion to create a dark and mistic sound that gives a large over all impression on what claudio is trying to get through with his story. If you have been lucky enough to buy the special edition with the cool DVD that shows coheed in the studio working on the album, you get to see how amazing and how apt to detail coheed and cambria is. Many of the songs and parts that they original right end up going through changes, sometimes adding acoustic harmony parts behind loud electric parts, or sometimes changing the whole song altogether to get the desired sound.

Lyrics — 10
Although Claudio Sanchez is often torn apart because his singing is so called "girly" and very high pitched, a common belief among critics and fans alike is that Claudio has slowly altered his voice and singing octaves as the albums are released to show the growth that Claudio Kilganon goes through in the process of saving the world in the Bag online adventure stories. The lyrics sometimes dont really comply very well with the music that is backing it, but on the other hand there is really no other band like coheed and cambria. Whats great about this album is that the mood of the music and the mood of the lyrics and distinctivly different and thats what makes it so great. The variets that are shown therefore, makes certain that the eager coheed listener is never bored or tired. Coheed and Cambria are great musicians, their music alone is good enough, but they add great lyrics to go along with it, and that just makes them great!

Overall Impression — 10
My overall imression of this album came with the first seventeen minutes of listening to it, this is one of those all killer no filler albums that have a song that everyone can relate to (even a classical sounding opener with orchestrated insturments). All the songs tend to stand out depending on the mood you are in or the type of music you listen to, maybe for the '70s rock listener, a trip through The Willing Well III From Fear Through The EyEs Of Madness may tickle your fancy or the big hitter Welcome Home may just do it for you, if you are a guitar fanatic and love to solo, then maybe you would like The Final Cut with a huge stringy solo at the end thats bound to leave and impression. Overall, anyone can enjoy this album, the great musician or the casual music listener, there is something for everyone!

1 comment sorted by best / new / date