Good Apollo, I'm Burning Star IV, Vol. 1: From Fear Through The Eyes Of Madness review by Coheed and Cambria

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 20, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.1 (257 votes)
Coheed and Cambria: Good Apollo, I'm Burning Star IV, Vol. 1: From Fear Through The Eyes Of Madness

Sound — 10
Coheed & Cambria are indeed the newest sound out there at the moment. And if you're flowing with the prog movement, you would easily recognise the difference. Their overall sound is excellent. They have taken a lot of effort to put together great intros and lots of neat fills. e.g. Welcome Home, The Final Cut, Always & Never. They also show a great deal of detail to create hypnotic solos such as the one in Welcome Home. Leadsinger Claudio Sanchez has an incredible vocal range and does not hesitate to go higher if needs be. The band can be compared to bands such as Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, and Rush. Though it is much more modern progressive rock and is not easily directly classified.

Lyrics — 10
Overall, I'd say they have got the most in-depth lyrics on the planet. The lyrics are based on the Bag-Online Adventure Comics of Coheed & Cambria. The story progresses through each album (this being the third). Some lyrics on the album are a bit graphic (especially those of the 'willing well' tracks, of those the final cut, which has just been put to music video, is quite graphic). Otherwise, the story speaks for itself, in utter brilliance.

Overall Impression — 10
Coheed & Cambria is not comparable! It is its own genre! There is no band on the planet like this band! Standout tracks: Welcome Home, The Suffering, Ten Speed (Of God's Blood and Burial), The Willing Well IV: The Final Cut. This is a must-have for your CD collection. It's addictive stuff and you'll be singing along in no time. This has got to be one of the top bands on the planet!

4 comments sorted by best / new / date

    everyone needs 2 read the comic book. ppl will sing the songs and think nothing of it until they understand the story. seroiusly go out now and try to find them.
    con job
    such a good album.the willing well is definitely the best part,specially pt II
    When coheed and labeled emo its so annoying! I think they should be labeled as 'EPIC'...this and the other two albums are so good! ive just started reading the comics...and then when i listen to the music it brings it to a whole new level and its so great!