Good Apollo, I'm Burning Star IV, Vol. 1: From Fear Through The Eyes Of Madness review by Coheed and Cambria

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 20, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.1 (257 votes)
Coheed and Cambria: Good Apollo, I'm Burning Star IV, Vol. 1: From Fear Through The Eyes Of Madness

Sound — 10
As a band Coheed has endured a lot in personal lives as well as their line-up. Their signature high vocal range, battling guitars, moving bass lines, and a strong drum beats are now accompanied by the missing ingredient in Coheed's last prog opera concoction, Keyboards. Claudio Sanchez, the bands frontman writes keyparts for many songs on the album. Travis was also big on the conception of this jewel. He adds many southern rock acoustic patterns in the album. Mic Todd, the returning bassist is nothing short of amazing when consructing the bass lines. Bass players will abosolutely love these lines. The drums were recorded by a session drummer so you know he has an idea how to add emphasis to the heavy parts of the songs as well as an understanding of when to just chill. If you are a veteran to the Coheed sound then you will love how Claudio takes ideas from previous CoCa favorites. Compare the epic sound of No World for Tomorrow to the legendary In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth 3. The group vocal screams and constant movement on the fretboards keep it interesting. The first single, The Running Free has a pop sound to be related to The Suffering. Gravemakers and Gunslingers can be a mirrored to Ten Speed. It has this constant solo feel as well as the spoken interlude at the bridge. The more acoustic Mother Superior has many of the same qualities of The Light and the Glass and Wake Up. Of course Coheed discovered on the last album, nothing makes for a closing track than a larger than life blues improv. The End Complete V. On the Brink does that and more, not to mention the allusion back to the final cut. This is all good but Coheed also adds some new blends different than the past works. Feathers, which has some type of upbeat pop metal vibe, and The Hound(of Blood and Rank) which has a more dark southern rock intro to a more pop rock feel, shows them as a progressive force to be reckoned with.

Lyrics — 9
This is by far Cladio's best vocal voice on all his albums. He uses his voice in all ranges and even brngs back his sreams from the second stage days. Of course we know that this is the conclusion of the story of Claudio so the lyrics have a death idea in most of the songs. If you are new to the story then this could seem to be a rather depressing album. But without a doubt a lyrical sucess. I would have prefered maybe one or two more positive songs.

Overall Impression — 10
Coheed is a strong driving force to be reckoned with. The have what many artist lack in current mainstream music. Depth, Technique, and Understanding of Music. This is arguably coheed's best work. Coheed makes this album contain a cornecopia of different song styles and structures to appeal to many music lovers as well as keep the disk from getting old. What makes it less appealing is the finality of the story. You want to see how Claudio would progress on the sixth part. I hope the next album (the prequel) shows Claudio's skills fully administered once more. I would buy two of these so that if it was stolen I would have a backup. Yeah it's that good.

5 comments sorted by best / new / date