Cold review by Cold

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 2, 1998
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.3 (13 votes)
Cold: Cold

Sound — 10
This is a very hard-assed album from Cold. Love it. Four people that worked together to come out with this created something amazing indeed. On the opener, "Go Away", th hardness of the album is felt. Ripping guitar riffs by the frontman and lead guitarist, and also on the equally simple, yet just as powerful, "Give". The very next track on the CD, "Give" attained single status as did "Go Away", and was very deserving. The combination of simple chords make this song easy to play and a load of fun to rock out to. Songs like "Makes Her Sick" my favorite on the album, are also powerful. Again, not the most complex, and sounding great. As I've heard before, simpler can be better. This album is proof.

Lyrics — 9
Hate. Addiction. Sorrow. Powerful ideas for lyrics. Scooter, the frontman, uses them amazingly in the songs. A very strong song lyrically, "Serial Killer" has a catchy verse. The whole song is about a child who was abducted by a serial killer, escaped, and looked for them later in life. Scooter drew off the feelings he felt when this came to mind. Definitely amazing. "The Switch", another good song on the album, lyrically, is not the most original. The verses are the same. The chorus, on the other hand, gets extended. The song appears to be about a girl who is promiscuous and sleeps around a lot, and as a result, cannot feel love. The album is strong lyrically, and very angry.

Overall Impression — 10
Cold's self-titled album was the perfect starting album for them to sell. This was an adequate beginner album, but performed by professionals. This album, dark and angry, gives you the shudders the first time you hear it. And every time after. If you like Cold, then you like this album. Grunge, alternative sound, dark, angry lyrics. Take a chance, buy it.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date