Year Of The Spider review by Cold

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Apr 29, 2003
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.5 (17 votes)
Cold: Year Of The Spider

Sound — 10
When Cold said they were going to release a CD with a little less hard, distorted guitars, and more acoustics, they lied a little bit. Even though there are a couple of softer tracks, they still have a hard edge to them. But that is not what makes Cold such a great band. You don't have to be super fast, thrashy, snarly metal to be considered "cool". Many believe this, and those who do are shallow minded fools!

Lyrics — 10
Anyways, they have taken songwriting to a new level in Year Of The Spider. Many people don't just relate to lyrics, like many other bands, but they "are" the lyrics. They are what's going on. Cold makes you a part of their lives and experiences. Many times during the record, you may feel teary-eyed, like you're in an emotional hurricane. Besides the powerful opening single "Stupid Girl" and the revengeful "anti-corporate America" closing song, "Kill The F**king Music Industry", the rest of the songs on the album are very emotional and powerful as well, using soothing melodies, fist-flinging chorus riffs, and intense lyrics. The songs are so depressing at times, but manage to pick up your spirits at the end. Two of the biggest examples of this are the songs "Cure My Tradgey (A Letter To God)" which is a song written about lead singer Scooter Ward's sister who was diagnosed with cancer, and "Sad Happy" which is a song about a young Cold fan who approached the band after a concert and told about how their songs helped her when she was going through a tough time at home, involving being raped by her father.

Overall Impression — 10
This album is full of references to hard times, one of which includeds Kurt Cobain's suicide, on the track "The Day Seattle Dided." Those who are fans of Nirvana would find this song very accurate and a wonderful tribute to a wonderful musician. Songs like "Don't Belong", "Rain Song", and "Remedy" also illustrate how much the band has grown since it's self-titled debut CD five years ago. The predicted next single "Suffocate" shows that Cold can work with others musicians, bringing in a female vocalist to add chilling melodies to the chorus. In all, Year Of The Spider is an accurate title for this CD. After all, no CD released so far this year, and most likely no other album released this year will be able to compare to Year Of The Spider. If you're a close-minded metal head with no sensitivity, don't buy it, cause you would shame the band. However, if you are a metal head, punker, or even a pop fan and have a brain, you would appreciate what this album can do for your ears and mind.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date