All This And More review by Cole Guerra

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Dec 14, 1999
  • Sound: 7
  • Lyrics: 6
  • Overall Impression: 7
  • Reviewer's score: 6.7 Neat
  • Users' score: 9 (1 vote)
Cole Guerra: All This And More

Sound — 7
In Cole Guerra's rock/pop debut album, he sets up a stunning progression of songs that will stay with you even after you've finished. All This And More includes the original version of Mars, My Glass Mountain, and You're Not Funny To Me, all must-listens. Released by Not Funny Records, he shows he has some sense of humor to contradict the dark, melodic songs he writes. However, throughout the album he has turns of catchy upbeat pop, which flourish's the rest of the album. Currently it is out of print, but used and new copies are available on eBay.

Lyrics — 6
Guerra uses his voice to capture you throughout the album, and stuns you with progressions you would never see. Most of the thrill is wondering where he'll go to next, when he flips the progressions in the middle of songs you had figured out. The lyrics are not the standout on the album, but aren't at all bad material, and you will gain more and more out of them after each listen.

Overall Impression — 7
If you own Guerra's second album, Scarves and Knives, and enjoyed it, you'll enjoy this just as much. However, unlike Scarves and Knives, which has a great lineup of songs throughout, you might find yourself continuously playing 3 or 4 songs that stand out, so don't expect a masterpiece. If you enjoy listening to rock, pop, or alternative music this is a good album to own, especially if you like a darker, moodier version of what most rock/pop is nowdays. If you enjoy Guerra, consider picking up David Mead's "Tangerine", Michael Penn, and Counting Crows. I hope you enjoy the album.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date