Scarves & Knives review by Cole Guerra

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.5 (4 votes)
Cole Guerra: Scarves & Knives

Sound — 8
Cole Guerra's sophomore album is a stunningly compelling compilation filled with moody, melodic pop and impressive chord structures. Included is a new version of a previously released song, Mars as well as Hocus Pocus, Gina, and Holed Up. This is Guerra's first nationally released album; his first, All This and More, is no longer in print and it was only released in North Carolina and Michigan. The production of the album is amazing, thanks to the credentials of producer J.D. Foster. A must have.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics in the album flow into the music, and you will continue to get material out of it after 10 listens. The lyrics have a deep meaning to them; unlike the catchy rock/pop we are accustomed to, you won't grow bored of this in a hurry. Guerra has a deep, dark voice, suitable to the music he plays, and in compliments it well. The melodies are interesting and seem to blend into the music itself, creating a masterpiece of music.

Overall Impression — 8
If you are a fan of Counting Crows, Michael Penn, David Mead, or Crowded House, you'll pick this up and enjoy it without a doubtful glance. If not, or you've never heard of these artists, then you might take some time getting used to the style.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date