From The Ground Up review by Collective Soul

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 24, 2005
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.5 (2 votes)
Collective Soul: From The Ground Up

Sound — 8
Collective Soul's latest release's sound is stripped in every way. There's drums on a couple of tracks other then those two tracks it is "acoustic" rock. The album was done because they did some of the songs in that way to start out on the albums they came off of. It's nice solid 6 string music that accompanies the ear like a new Strat.

Lyrics — 10
As usual Ed Roland wrote all the songs on here and 2 of them are new songs. The lyrics are simple but he crafts them into eachother like building blocks or nails into wood without a hammer. It works.

Overall Impression — 8
Overall impression? The album lacks tracks. It could use 2 more tracks. I really would of liked "Shine" acoustic and "Run" stripped even more. It's a good album, very solid. The best song on the album is obviously "Compliment" to me. It just works well from the original and is great. The best lyrics on the album also. Collective Soul is collecting my money because they're worth it.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date