Jane Doe review by Converge

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 4, 2001
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.7 (38 votes)
Converge: Jane Doe

Sound — 10
I`ve never heard anything this brutal! Tracks like opener "Concubine", "Heaven In Her Arms" and "Thaw" show Converge`s winning formula of ultra high-pitched, sub-human vocals, battering guitar riffs and hernia-inducing drums. However, unlike most grindcore/noise bands, Converge arn`t afraid to experiment, like on the epic title track.

Lyrics — 8
Lyric-wise, this albumn is again outstanding, with intelligent, metaphorical lyrics. Vocalist Jacob Bannon`s vicious delivery makes many song lyrics almost impossible to understand without the printed versions with the CD!

Overall Impression — 10
To put it simply, "Jane Doe" is a masterpiece. No other metal band today would dare to make a record that is on one hand insanely heavy, but on the other experimental and genre-bending. Tracks like "Concubine", "Fault and Fracture", "Homewrecker", "Phoenix in Flight" and "Jane Doe" are, in a metal scene full of copycats like Chevelle, the backwards-looking crap-meisters like Jet and the sheer horror of Nickleback, not so mucha breath but a storm of fresh air. If you listen to Dillinger Escape Plan 24-7 and call Slayer a "pop band" or you`re more at home with bands like Thursday and Finch, you simply have to own this record.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date