Beneath The Medicine Tree review by Copeland

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 25, 2003
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.9 (10 votes)
Copeland: Beneath The Medicine Tree

Sound — 9
This is Copeland's first release, Beneath The Medicine Tree. When this album was written, two people close singer Aaron Marsh were in the hospital. Many of the lyrics are heart-wrenching in relation to this subject. Copeland is the quickly rising Lakeland, Florida band that emo fans are begining to love. The CD kicks off with the song "Brightest." It begins with a beautiful piano/vocal intro. This CD is calmer than that of Copeland's new release, "In Motion." But the piano, smooth guitars, etc. are still absolutely beautiful. This is a great album for all you Ben Folds, Coldplay, Augustana people. James Likeness really has some phenominal bass lines on this album. Your sure to enjoy this album!

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics, are, as said above, sad on this album. They were written over the course of three years. Copeland's website quotes this CD as "Aaron... bearing his soul." The lyrics are very powerful, and leave you changed. Aaron's voice is soooo good. He has one of the greatest voices in modern music. He has a massive range for a guy, hitting some high highs. He is really impressive in singing and playing at the sametime, you'll fall in love with his guitar/piano and vocal lines that showcase him.

Overall Impression — 9
Copeland is a very good band, they are hard to group with other acts. They are similar in many respects to Jimmy Eat World, but on this song they have a lighter feel. Coldplay is similar, of course, you won't hear Aaron going off on a English accent. Track 3, "Priceless," is a truly beautiful song. Aaron's voice really shows a passsion, and that he truly feels and means what he is singing about. Copeland is an amazing group, suprisingly only four memebers. This quickly became one of my favorite CDs after only hearing it once or twice. It is sure to take you in and captivate you. Definately check out this album!

1 comment sorted by best / new / date