The Principle Of Evil Made Flesh review by Cradle of Filth

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 1, 1994
  • Sound: 6
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.7 (9 votes)
Cradle of Filth: The Principle Of Evil Made Flesh

Sound — 6
I'll come right out and say this, it's sketchy, the sound isn't exactly cristal clear but you have to give them a chance as it was released way back in '94. This is their first full length album so Dani hasn't tuned his now legendary howl and adrian hasn't perfected his use of double bass. Having said this however; this is a remarkable display of the bands creativity and in this early work they show the world exactly what they are capable of. It starts with an the manditory eery intro and then goes into the title track, the Principle Of Evil Made Flesh, the song is fast and raw it gives you a general impression of what cradle are all about in this album and in their whole carear, this song is one of my favourites of all time as it blasts the ear drums and contains a great solo. This album is worth the money I paid for it andi would recoment it to anyone who's looking for something a little bit different or like me someone who just wants to dable with kinds of music they normaly can't handle. Apart from the not great sound this is easily one of the greatest black metal works of all time, it is the perfect cross between love and hate and shows that the band are certainly not to be messed with.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics are very poetic as with all of their albums. The theme is unclear but judging by the amount of violence in the lines it would apear to be about some sort of war or armed uprising it shows the the track 'A Cresendo Of Passion Bleeding'. Most of the time the lyrics fit perfectly with the music but in some songs such as 'To Eve The Art Of Witchcraft' and 'The Black Goddess Rises' they are overly sexed up and far too romantic for a band which is infamous for confirming that "Jesus Is A C--t". But still danis spatered verbal abuse is well laid down on almost all tracks.

Overall Impression — 8
It beats most other black metal acts around today it realy is that good, most just can't compare, this is a peice of history where 6 suffockshire unknowns stepped onto the world stage and showed the rest of the music industry that they are not to be messed with. But still it simply dosn't compare with their other albums. To sum up; a good buy but this will only realy have appeal to hardened cradle listeners, if your new to the concept of Cradle Of Filth I would direct you towards something less intimidating such as Lovecraft and Witchhearts Or Midian, but still if you think you can stick it then you wont be dissapointed.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date

    Adrian wasn't the drummer on this cd, Nick Barker (Old Man's Child, Dimmu Borgir) was. Barker was the drummer through Cruelty and the Beast.