Crossfade review by Crossfade

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Apr 13, 2004
  • Sound: 6
  • Lyrics: 6
  • Overall Impression: 6
  • Reviewer's score: 6 Neat
  • Users' score: 9.5 (23 votes)
Crossfade: Crossfade

Sound — 6
Crossfade (Columbia Records) has a good catchy sound, but it's nothing we haven't heard before. They have the soft rock down cold but the more hard core material they have could use some work. It's slightly unoriginal and can get boring after a few tracks. Hopefully on their next album they'll work harder for some slightly more attention grabbing tunes.

Lyrics — 6
The lyrics much like the melodies aren't as creative as some of the newer artists or coming out with. The featured songs "So Far Away" and "Cold" are catchy but the words are repetitive and boring. If you look through at all of the songs you'll find they tend to be mostly the same. Singers Ed Sloan and Tony Byroads are very talented and brought some life to their basically lifeless lyrics.

Overall Impression — 6
You could hear some impressions of Nickelback and 3 Doors Down in the melodies and lyrics mostly in "Cold" and "Starless." "The Deep End" and "So Far Away" were definetly the most unique songs on the album. The song "Colors" was one of the featured songs but there was nothing particualarly striking about it. Overall, this was a decent album but I wouldn't recommend it if you're looking for something that'll have you listening for months. I wouldn't buy it again, instead going for the new 3 Doors Down, which has the same type of sound but is just better all around.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date