None So Live review by Cryptopsy

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 10, 2003
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8 (1 vote)
Cryptopsy: None So Live

Sound — 8
"None So Live" is a live album of Cryptopsy. It was recorded on June 1st, 2000 at The Medley in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. The album contains twelve songs taken from their latest albums (except "The Unspoken King" and "Once Was Not"). The first song is an intro that shows the enthusiasm of the public to Cryptopsy. "The Graves Of The Fathers" song is cut in 1:58 minutes, to perform a drum solo by Flo Mounier, at the end of the drum solo, the song continues. Beginning with the sound quality is really excellent (and is also a live album). The guitars are heard as if they were taken from a studio album. The bass guitar is like a guitar is heard as well. The battery (as is natural in Cryptopsy), has a sound overwhelming. The change most evident in the album, is the arrival of a new exclusive to this album vocalist Martin Lacroix. He does his job beautifully, can be Lord Worm and DiSalvo at once. All songs were well represented, as they are. Overall, the sound is great for a live album, in addition, Martin Lacroix fulfills its mission, replacing the other vocalists of Cryptopsy. Everything, including electric bass, guitars, drums and vocals are really great.

Lyrics — 8
The lyric is one of the albums already composed, clear. Looking at the lyrics of the other albums, we can say that the lyric is really very good (especially "None So Vile" lyrics), normally speak of death, torture, or catastrophic events. Not much to say in this paragraph, only that varies depending on the album lyrically (For example, the lyric of "None So Vile" is highly educated and hard to understand). If we talk about the new singer, we can say that is really good. He can sing like DiSalvo and as Lord Worm. He does not make perfect, but for a simple fan of Cryptopsy, it does very well.

Overall Impression — 9
"None So Live" is an excellent live album of Cryptopsy. They have picked the best songs of all Cryptopsy albums (except for "Once Was Not", and "The Unspoken King", because it was not for sale yet). And to be just a live album, has an outstanding sound, the recording is done exhaustively. All instruments are heard to perfecccion. In addition, the new voice, and the last on this album is very good. If we were to choose the best song on the album, choose, "Graves Of The Fathers". Besides being a great song, has an excellent drum solo Flo Mounier only knows. Best of this album is the recording quality is really amazing to be a group of Death Metal. The worst, not having Lord Worm in his only live album. In general, if you're a fan of Cryptopsy, you must have this album. If you're not a fan of Cryptopsy, but of Death Metal, I would advise having it. And in general, for a fan of the albums live, if you really want to know what it sounds like a death metal band live, it sounds its really good.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date