None So Vile review by Cryptopsy

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 3, 1996
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.1 (23 votes)
Cryptopsy: None So Vile

Sound — 10
This album is brutal death metal/grind the whole way through. The guitar is about as heavy as can be, and the drums are inhumanly fast. The overall sound is extremely dark and brutality oozes out of every note. Jon Levasseur and Miguel Roy rip out completely over the top guitar solos and I'm surprised Flo Mournier has yet to set his double bass on fire. Eric Langlois (bass) has some great slap lines (see Benedictine Convulsions), and skillfully provides the rhythm a bassist should. The production is also outstanding; every sonic detail can be heard thoroughly.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics are twisted and macabre, as you can expect from most any death metal release. Lord Worm's vocals are indecipherable though! Even by looking through the lyric booklet it's hard to find any audible simularities between Worm's demonlike growl and the cautionary tales outlined in the lyrics.

Overall Impression — 10
Cryptopsy sound like no death metal band before or after them on None So Vile. The only band that even near comes to mind is Nile, and even they sound nothing like them. My favorate songs on the album were Benedictiine Convulsions and Slit Your Guts, but the whole album is very "enjoyable." The best things about this record are Flo's drums and the overall flow (no pun intended) of the album, although the album is short (8 songs). If this albumn were stolen I would use unholy means to find the perpetrator, slit his guts, take the CD back, let him suffer, and buy one more just in case. Overall a very worthy listen, and a defining moment for the death metal genre. Thank you Cryptopsy!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date