Discovery review by Daft Punk

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 26, 2001
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 6
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.1 (80 votes)
Daft Punk: Discovery

Sound — 8
There're people that thought the name of the album left this message: disco-very, that means very-disco. The sound is a kind of "new" disco, but comes to be house, because in general, it sounds modern, freshy, and a bit funky. They sampled a lot of songs from the '80s artists, so I can definitively approve that this album is disco house.

Lyrics — 6
There's lyrics in 7 tracks: "One More Time," "Digital Love," "Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger," "Superheroes," "Something About Us," "Face To Face" and "Too Long." The lyrics like "Face To Face" are made by Daft Punk, but sang by Romanthony (Anthony Moore) and Todd Edwards. There are songs that are sung by Daft Punk, but like always, they deform the sound and make it more electronic.

Overall Impression — 10
Thomas Bangalter and Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo made their first album, "Homework," which made them pioneers of French (electronic) music. But their new album, made in 2001, was their best hit in history. It's full of their style, mixed with disco house.

8 comments sorted by best / new / date

    This Album is my favourite album in the world ever!! Not one bad song on it (well, maybe too long, but hey ). Some wicked Synth guitar solos on it as well, but im not sure this belongs on Ultimate-Guitar
    i love daft punk, id give them a 250 on a scale of 1-10. also they killed tron, 2nd best movie i ever saw.