Eleventeen review by Daisy Chainsaw

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 6, 1992
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 6.2 (12 votes)
Daisy Chainsaw: Eleventeen

Sound — 9
Daisy Chainsaw were perhaps one of the wierdest bands to come out of the UK indie scene in the early '90s, and this album is a forgotten classic. Despite being shunned by critics for being too 'bizzare', Daisy Chainsaw cultivated a strong, tightly-knitted cult fanbase. The Album's sound is very raw, punky and unhinged, driven by Katie-Jane Garside's deranged vocal delivery (often slipping into complete gibberish) and Crispin Gray's off-the-wall fuzz guitar. Unlike a lot of bands, the rhythm section was always apparent in Daisy Chainsaw's music, and the thumping bass and head-pounding drums provide the background to DC's picture of the perfect migraine. That said, Daisy Chainsaw's strange, almost discordant sound may be an acquired taste for some, but fans of old school punk and the weirder side of indie will drool over it. Flawless.

Lyrics — 10
Just like the music itself, the lyrics on this album are, to put it lightly, the rantings of a mad, feral girl foaming from every oraface of her head. At times, it can get maybe a little too weird ('I've got a new dress with large breasts and I look funny, my beautiful boy who has brown eye, we both smell immensely' strange enough for you), but this is one of the main focal points of the Daisy Chainsaw machine. Katie-Jane Garside's voice is that of a twisted angel, swerving uncontrollably from heavenly to demonic in a heartbeat, in full compliment with the feel of the music. From the soulful siren song of 'I Hope All Your Dreams Come True' to the brattish 'Love Your Money' to the straight-jacket spazz-out of 'Lovely Ugly Brutal World', Katie-Jane Garside proves herself to be one talented lunatic.

Overall Impression — 8
'Eleventeen' doesn't compare to any other albums before or after its release other than perhaps Queen Adreena's sophomore album 'Drink Me', and even then it's created by the two main members of Daisy Chainsaw! As a matter of fact, not even Daisy Chainsaw's second album 'For They Know Not What They Do' compares to Eleventeen, since after her departure, Katie was an irreplacable part of the band that left a black hole in their sound. If I had to pick highlights from 'Eleventeen', they would be the spazztastic opening tracks 'I Feel Insane', 'You Be My Friend' and 'Dog With Sharper Teeth', the mental institute lullaby 'Hope All Your Dreams Come True', the punktastic 'Love Your Money' and 'The Future Free', and the schizophrenic 'Pink Flower'. The other tracks, however, tend to let the album down by venturing on an epic journey into bizzareness for the sake of bizzareness, 'Lovely Ugly Brutal World' dissolving into a cacophony of noise. Minor setbacks aside, 'Eleventeen' is a forgotten classic and a must-have for every punk and indie CD collection. Check it out, you won't regret it.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date

    I saw Daisy Chainsaw live atb Thr Robey in Finsbury Park when the album came out and too say they where chaotic would be an understatement.... Great band, cool lead singer.