Arrow review by Dani Arrow

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 13, 2009
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 10 (1 vote)
Dani Arrow: Arrow

Sound — 8
The "Arrow" E.P. by Singer/Songwriter Dani Arrow was released December 1st 2009. It features 6 Songs, all stripped down solo performances - voice and guitar only, except for Piano on the Duet "Standing At The Station" with Diana and Mouthharp on some tracks. Altogether the sound captures a certain mood, a storytelling mix of despair and hope which are supposed to be opposites. The Opener is "5 Men & 18 Women", a track about being in a place you need to get out of with a title borrowed from Stephen King's movie "Rose Red".

Lyrics — 9
The Lyrics are storytelling lyrics which explain and paint pictures. They fit the stripped down guitar chords well. Dani Arrow's voice doesn't hit all the notes, but it gets you in the mood and it fits the songs well. Altogether you can notice the influence of great songwriters like Neil Young, Johnny Cash, Nick Cave ect. For a first E.P. "Arrow"'s done a good job.

Overall Impression — 9
The most impressive songs would be "Standing At The Station", a duet with female Singer Diana about a break up and the end of a relationship. Also "Death And Disguise" stands out with its rhythm and big chorus, as well as the cold opener "5 Men & 18 Women", straight forward about wanting to escape from despair.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date