Songs From A Haze review by Dani Arrow

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Dec 23, 2011
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 10 (1 vote)
Dani Arrow: Songs From A Haze

Sound — 8
"Songs From A Haze" is a 5-track E.P. preceding the forthcoming full-length album to be released in 2012. According to an interview with Arrow on Facebook this E.P. features songs which were written for the album but for one reason or another didn't make it on the final tracklist. Arrow himself claims partly not to remember writing these songs. The sound is stripped down to voice and guitar, the songwriting is simple chord-structures with nice vocal melodies on top. The records mood is pretty dreamy and gloomy at times. It's a live in Studio recording for which Dani Arrow put only one microphone in front of him and started playing and singing. There's no overdubs, no mixing or mastering.

Lyrics — 9
The lyrics are sung well, Dani Arrow has a distinctive voice. Most of them are about holding on to passions for life or love. The first track "The Fire Still Burns" touches this topic whereas "A Hooker's Drea" seems to be a very self-humouristic view on a darker time. In "Love Denied" Arrow talks about a broken heart, but also that a song can help. For the most part the lyrics seem to represent a rather negative situation but also a positive spark and hope to get out. "Letter", the last track on this record, is written as if it were a letter to an ex-lover.

Overall Impression — 9
This is a contemporary singer-songwriter record stripped down to the core. The record holds a lot of emotions, which party makes up for any instruments or elements that might seem to be missing. To Dani Arrow, it's all about the song and the message in its basic form. You could eventually compare these songs to Kris Kristofferson's or Johnny Cash's late works, or maybe Bruce Springsteen's "Nebraska" album. Even though Arrow doesn't sound like any of them. All in all it sounds like a good songwriter on his way. I like some of the songs in this stripped down fashion, others I think would sound great with a band.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date