Oblivious 2 review by Dark Olive

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 12, 2004
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 6
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 0 (0 votes)

Sound — 8
The CD is well mixed to say that the 2nd and 3rd track are recorded live. The singer/guitarist mixed the first track, Oblivious 2, and it is well mastered for a beginner. The live tracks have been mastered by the bassist and the guitarist, but regardless of this the CD comes across as extremely proffesional. This is a rock CD for all to enjoy, it has a vast mixture of styles and can be appreciated by just about anybody. This CD should be cranked up to full!

Lyrics — 6
The singers voice is extremely distictive, and the first track contains english garage rapping, which is extremely rare for music of this punk-rock nature. The lyrics are simple but can be related to easily, the title track, Oblivious 2 is about chilling out with your friends and just generally being a student, and being alive!

Overall Impression — 10
I believe that this band have the potential to go far, they are a very young band, and if this CD Single is even a snippet of what they can do live, they will make it. The songs are tight, perfectly in time and very mature for people of their age. The band consists of 3 males and a female, the female, suprisingly is not the vocalist, which takes away alot of stereotypes. The CD is only available through their website (www.darkolive.co.uk), or emailing Darkolive123@hotmail.com. This is your new favourite band!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date