Before These Crowded Streets review by Dave Matthews Band

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Apr 28, 1998
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.9 (20 votes)
Dave Matthews Band: Before These Crowded Streets

Sound — 10
The Dave Matthews Band is one of the greatest bands to ever hit the music scene. They've always been known for their signature sound and lengthy jam sessions. Both are shown extremely well on "Before These Crowded Streets." Their sound and the group themselves are so incredibly tight and fine-tuned on the record and it has the energy of one of their infamous live shows. The band experiments with new sounds on the album and bring in long-time collaborator Tim Reynolds on guitar, Bela Fleck on banjo, and even Alanis Morrisette on vocals on two of the tracks. The record desplays a finer attention to detail than in the earlier records.

Lyrics — 10
Dave Matthews has always been an amazing songwriter and his skills are put to full use on the record. The lyrics fit the tone the songs set and really pack a hell of a punch. The topics vary from the funnest parts of love ("Stay"), how the white man screwed the Native Americans ("Don't Drink The Water"), and raunchy sex ("Rapunzel"). Dave Matthews's lyrics hit their peak on this album.

Overall Impression — 10
Overall, "Before These Crowded Streets" is an extrordinary album that displays extrordinary talent. It's a must own for any DMB fan and for someone just getting into the group or jam bands in general. It has become one of my favorite CDs in my collection. It kicks ass!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date