Crash review by Dave Matthews Band

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 1, 1998
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.7 (11 votes)
Dave Matthews Band: Crash

Sound — 10
A very solid follow up to Under the Table and Dreaming, in which the band has followed Dave Matthews back to his African roots. One more Carter Beauford (drums) takes his talent and performance to another level. Leroi Moore (horns) gets grovin' and adds nice depth to many of the tracks. Bassist Stefan Lessard once more demonstrates why he deserves to be a part of the band despite his young age, knowing when and how much to do and tastefully. Boyd Tinsley (violen) really adds to this album. His range and energy pours out of the tracks. This is very much a pop-rock album. Songs like So Much To Say, Too Much, Crash Into Me and Tripping Billies are easy singles. The band hasn't lost his jazz touch in songs #41, Say Goodbye and Lie In Our Graves. Two Step is a definate concert song, with it's long intro and driving half-time rhythm. A solid "pleaser" album.

Lyrics — 10
Solid. Dave Matthews is a very good lyricis. Cry Freedom could easily be considered the best in this category, being filled with power, emotion and imagery. The blend of lyrics and instruments in Say Goodbye is so well done, and much of the same could be said about #41. The pop ballad Crash satisfies any pop lover with it's transic and erotic nature. Matthews' vocals will never be considered along the lines of a Tony Bennett, but can be easily compared to Rob Thomas or "The Boss" and is quite servicable. His catchy quirks and hooks will keep you listening.

Overall Impression — 9
Although I would not rate it, as an album, better than many of the other band's cd's, I would have to say that it arguably has more singles than any of their other albums. It's a shame that it'll only be remembered for the track Crash and just another DMB album by most. A very solid album overall. As iTunes put it, "A crowd-pleaser rather than a ground-breaker, Crash delivers where it counts."

2 comments sorted by best / new / date

    One of my favorite DMB albums. This really is a great album. If you like DMB then you should definitely buy this.