Low review by David Bowie

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 14, 1977
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.4 (16 votes)
David Bowie: Low

Sound — 10
David Bowie's "Low" is a tour de force of experimental and often blatantly ballsy songwriting. Brian Eno's influence and input on the record is unmistakable, and the atmosphere here is one of a kind. Chilling soundscapes can play out like a bad acid trip, and the paranoia prevalent in the recording studio gives certain tracks on "Low" an almost supernatural feel to them, specifically those on the latter half of the album.

Lyrics — 9
"Low" features some of the darkest material in Bowi's catalogue; isolation, fear and insanity are among the central themes on the album. Five of the eleven tracks are instrumentals, and the remaining six consist of minimalist, stream-of-consciousness phrases and contradictions, particularly the explosive "What in the World". "Low" is most likely the least lyrical album Bowie ever put out. His voice is perhaps its most vulnerable on this album, and the performances here hold tremendous feeling.

Overall Impression — 10
There are plenty of casual and hardcore David Bowie fans out there who would tell you that "Low" is their very favorite album of his considerably expansive discography. It has proven over time to be quite a special composition in the hearts of many, and it's not hard to see why. This album is adventurous, haunting, and profoundly thought-provoking, and is certainly the strongest of his "Berlin" trilogy ("Heroes" and "Lodger" would follow). It is certainly a must-have for any collection in this reviewer's opinion.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date